Trinity United Methodist Church History
Trinity United Methodist Church has a rich history. It has been in existence for a hundred and forty-six years. It has produced outstanding Educators, Ministers, a Bishop, a College President and two Institutions of Higher Education.
On March 2. 1843, a cornerstone was laid for the first brick church in Texas, a Methodist Church. The dimensions of the lot were 50 feet x 60 feet to be located in the Church Reserve given by the Allen brothers when the city of Houston was laid out. This block was bounded by Milam. Prairie, Travis and Texas Streets. Records reflect that in the afternoon the Presiding Elder preached to 32 Negro members in the same house in which the whites worshiped. Sacrament was also given the “colored” members.
In 1969, the Church congregation purchased the property, which is now the parking lot for S62.000. The two lots adjacent to the parking lot were purchased in 1985 and 1986 for $20,000.00 and $18,500.00 respectively. In 1990. a longtime dream was fulfilled with the purchase of the Pilgrim property where the Bradford-Taylor Center now stands.